SA Schools & SA Schools “A” Teams – According To

(Photo Credit: Jorina Raath/

The selection of the SA Schools teams must be the most anticipated announcement in a schoolboy rugby year and this year is no different. This year's selection will include more "surprises" as there is no clear favourites in most of the positions with four or five boys in the run.

Personal preferences and game plans will be the deciding factors when selecting players or combinations, and especially in 2019 I am glad I am not a selector as not matter who is selected they will be crucified with credible arguments..

The following two squads must please be taken for exactly what it is, an old fart's opinion.

SA  Schools: 15. Zeilinga Strydom (Bulls), 14. TJ Maguranyanga (Golden Lions), 13. Henco v Wyk (Golden Lions), 12. Tyler Bocks (WP), 11. Angelo Osch (WP), 10. Kian Meadon (WP XV), 9. Bobby Alexander (WP), 8. Izaan Esterhuizen (Golden Lions), 7. Simon Miller (Blue Bulls), 6. MJ van Rensburg (Blue Bulls), 5. Dylan de Leeuw (WP), 4. Raynard Roets (Blue Bulls), 3. Gerhard vd Merwe (Blue Bulls), 2. Jaques Goosen (Border), 1 Rhynard Rijnsburger (WP). Replacements: 16. Jaques-Lois du Toit (Blue Bulls), 17. Jan-Hendrik Wessels (Cheetahs), 18. Ali Gqaza (Border), 19. Juandré Odendaal (Valke), 20. Keke Morabe (Griffons), 21. Rowan Cloete (Blue Bulls), 22. Javier Farmer (WP XV), 23. Kade Wolhuter (WP).

SA Scools "A": 15. Elzandro Fredericks (Griquas), 14. Geraldo Flusk (Bulls), 13. Quan Horn (WP), 12. AJ Johnston (Bulls), 11. Tylon Kotze (Valke), 10. Boldwin Hansen (Boland), 9. Abré Minnie (SWD), 8. Franco Enslin (Valke), 7. Renzo du Plessis (Limpopo Bulls), 6. Jarrod Taylor (Border), 5. Corné Rahls (SWD), 4. George Cronje (Cheetahs), 3. Bryan le Roux (WP), 2. Andre-Hugo Venter (Cheetahs), 1. Henko Smuts (WP XV). Replacements: 16. Liam Compion (WP XV)
17. Malcolm Joseph (SWD), 18. Blaine Golden (Sharks), 19. Grant van Leeuwen (Pumas), 20. Zander du Toit (Golden Lions), 21. Jurich Claassen (Blue Bulls), 22. Ebenezer Thsimanga (WP XV), 23. Brandon Cronje (Limpopo Blue Bulls)