How Big Is The Score Going To Be? They Ask

(Photo Credit: Debi Botha/


It is a "gentleman's" feud that has been carrying on for the past 96 years. The first game was played in 1923 with Grey College the winner 7-0. The schools have played 43 times against each other of which Grey College won 32 times, Affies won 6 times while the schools drawing 5 times.

Grey's biggest win was 47-10 in 2007 while Affies' biggest win was 25-3 in 1996 with the most points scored is 82 in 2016.

Grey College is back at its absolute best and is unbeaten since 20 May 2017. They played 11 games this season and won all of them with an average score of 53-17. Affies, on the other hand, lost 4 of their 12 games this season but more importantly, they lost the 4 games in their last 5 games.

Grey College is known to strangle all life out of their opponents and when their massive pack of forwards take control in the second half and start supplying their backline with some quality ball they will run any opponent to pieces. Paarl Boishaai led 17-5 before the "Grey effect" starting to take effect. Grey College scored 38 unanswered points before Paarl Boishaai were allowed to score a seven-pointer at full time.

Affies, on the other hand, depends on their defenders to make big tackles and then they play off the turnover ball which is spread quickly and wide to score some amazing tries.  Recently Affies tried to play a more conservative gameplan which is understandable if the injury to their two first-choice flyhalves is taken into account.

Affies need to play a similar gameplan that Paarl Boishaai played in the first 30 minutes, disrupting Grey College with in-your-face defence AND will have to maintain the pressure for the full 70 minutes.

So what will the margin be? Personally, I think Grey College will win with 20 - 30 points but never. never underestimate the Affie guts especially in Bloemfontein.

Grey College: 1. Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 2. André-Hugo Venter, 3. Petrus Naudé, 4. Sesonke Vumazonke, 5. Danwich Beukes, 6. Racrdo Fourie, 7. Deon le Roux, 8. George Cronjé, 9. Tiaan Fourie, 10. FC du Plessis, 11. Marcel Muller, 12. Lesley Botha, 13. Ian Small-Smith, 14. JD Odendaal, 15. Franco Knoetze.

Affies: 1. Beorn Graham, 2. Jacques-Lois du Toit, 3. Werner Kruger, 4. Christian Kamffer, 5. Reinhardt Ludwig, 6. MJ Janse van Rensburg, 7.Adolph Visser, 8. George Oosthuysen, 9. Michael van Aswegen, 10. JP Wentzel, 11. Bjorn van Wyk, 12. Johan du Toit, 13. Christiaan du Toit, 14. Kyle Liebenberg, 15. Dieter Crafford.





Please follow and like us: