The Central Region Schools Competition Confirmed


Some of the Top Schools in the central region of South Africa decided to establish a new competition ensuring top quality opponents in their own regions. Schools from the Griffons, Free State and Griquas will form part of this competition with the initial 8 schools being divided into 2 pools. The final fixture list for 2018 is still to be announced but the information we have is that Pool A will consist of Noord-Kaap, Witteberg, Sentraal from Bloemfontein and Fichardt Park and Pool B will consist of Diamantveld, Voortrekker, Jim Fouche and Goudveld. 

The aim of this competition is to enable the top performing sports schools to compete on a yearly basis and also provide a platform for talented children to be identified and developed.

Some interesting rules will apply:

a) This is a u/19 series but children must attend a school full time without a matric certificate i.e. no post matrics. 

b) Children attending schools not competing in rugby may play at any of the competing schools.

c) Three games will be played against the other schools in the same pool whereafter semi-finals and final will be played.

d) The possibility of a promotion/relegation is not possible for the first 2 years whereafter the management may allow a school outside of this competition to be promoted taking the results of the school as a whole into account and not only rugby.

e) No player may be paid to participate in this competition.

f) Semi-finals and finals will be played at Bloemfontein in 2018.

g) All participating schools undertake not to "poach" players from each other.

h) If a player moves to another school in this competition, after the 1st of January of each year he is not allowed to play for his new school in that year.


Please follow and like us: